Home > Uncategorized > The Heart of the Matter

The Heart of the Matter

In the previous post we discussed how how God gives us the opportunity to write our own story by giving us the ability to make our own decisions.  That God did not make us to be his robots or puppets but to actually be our own beings.If that is truly the case then we must figure out how to make the correct choice in every situation because our choices have an effect an how history unfolds. 

I looked in Proverbs chapter 16 verses 2-3, "All a man's ways seem innocent to him, but motives are weighed by the Lord.  Commit to the Lord whatever you do, and your plans will succeed." 

Isn't that an interesting couple of verses, and so true?  You know, being totally honest, I can rationalize pretty much anything I do to convince myself of my innocence.  We see this all the time if we are honest, everything from justifying why it is ok for us to lie or talk bad about people to how some people justify murder or drug use.  Over the years I have known many people who have tried to justify to me why it was ok for them to smoke pot; they are stressed or, they have a hard time relaxing, they don't sleep well, or because the government is just wrong in making it illegal.  However, does that make it not illegal and ok?  You may be like me and for some reason everytime I watch the news I feel better about myself because I hear all these stories about other people who do these evil awful things that are much worse than anything I do.  Does that make the wrong choices I make ok? 

We can always find a way to justify our actions, it is always someone elses fault or someone else always does worse.  However is that good enough you?  The more I think about it the more I reflect on the more it is not good enough for me.  My choices are important, they matter in how history unfolds, and so do your choices.  We cannot be ok with justifying our errors any longer, we must see them for what they are and next time do the right thing.  History depends on us, our friends depend on us, our family depends on us, our coworkers depend on us, and there are people we are unaware of that depend on us.  It is true we can make all our ways seem innocent, but the passage does not end there and we will address the rest of the passage tomorrow.   

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

