Taken Hold Of

For the most part we have been discussing ways we can be different in the choices we make, be it actions or our mindset.  Today I wanted to address the issue of why.  Why would I attempt to make different choices or alter history in a different way then I am now.  The answer is found in Philippians 3:12-14 where we read "I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus has taken hold of me."  The answer is that if you have been taken hold of by Jesus then we press on to take hold of that which Jesus took hold of. 

First, I can tell you that if you have truly had an experience with God then you understand the comment about being taken hold of.  It makes total sense to me when I think about the first experience I had with God as a 16 year old, and many other times in my life since then.  This is the type of thing I cannot really explain to you it is one of those things that you know if God has ever taken a hold of you or he hasn't.  Now if he has, you know it, and if he really has taken hold of you then you walk away from that experience with God changed.  Part of that change is now the desire to be like God, to choose God's ways. Here is where the passage really begins to make sense, if God has taken hold of me then I want to take hold of what Jesus has taken hold of.  Umm what was that. 

Sometimes we overlook an important part of Jesus' life that has an enourmous impact on our lives.  You see when Jesus lived he did many amazing things but the thing he did that was the most amazing is that he lived his entire life without sinning, or he always chose God's way in every situation.  As you and I know that is amazing because I have a hard time making it a few hours let alone my entire life.  However, since Jesus did do this, he can then give us the power to be like him and not sin when we commit our lives to him.  Ok maybe this is a little confussing. When we have a real experience with God and commit our lives to God, we then have the desire and the power to be like Jesus and take hold of the sinnless life that he lived. 

Now if he would not have lived a sinless life then he could not give us the power to live that way ourselves, but since he did we have the ability to actually do what God would have us do, with the right motives.  That is why we would actually try to do the things we have been discussing because Jesus did it, and if I commit my life to him then I can do it. 

Wait, I can do it, and you can do it because Jesus gives us the power to do it the right way.  Well that sounds like the kind of thing that I can take hold of and pursue with everything I have.  There will be times that I fail but not because he failed.  Sometimes I get selfish, lazy, mad, sad, or just stupid.  But he has still taken hold of me, he has still forgiven me, he still lived a perfect life, he still was the sacrifice, and he still gives me the power to be like him. That seems like the type of life I can press on to take hold of, because he took hold of it for me, and then took hold of me.  Because of that I can quit dwelling over the ways I have messed up and the things I cannot do and focus on what I can do.  What can we do?  What would things in our lives and in the lives of those we know and love look like if we did the things he gives us the power to do?

  1. Anonymous
    June 14, 2006 at 2:44 pm

    I try and look at every situation and respond how God would. However, if I am not in His word consistently and consistently learning about His character, how do I know that how I think He would react doesn’t fade into how I would react? Hum, guess I need to stay in His word. Guess I need to stay close to Him. I have had a lot of family things going on lately. I try and react to my family the way I think Jesus would want me too. One thing I have been thinking about recently is that I am not the Judge. Altough I am trying to be like Him, I am not the judge like He is. Going off of yesterdays blog, I need to stop focusing on what I think the people in my family are doing wrong. I am not their judge, and I cannot change them. I can pray for them and I can ask God how He wants me to respond. And I can love. The rest is in His hands.

  2. June 15, 2006 at 12:08 am

    That is a very good point, many times it is so easy to focus on everything that everyone else is doing, especially the things they do wrong. However, when we do that we take the focus off of the things we can actually do and control. You are right we are not the judge and we cannot make anyone else do anything or believe anything but we can be the type of person God calls us to be and be different. Like the last post says we can be so different that we are like shining stars in a dark sky and people see that and respond. I am sorry that you have had a lot of family troubles lately, I know that is especially hard because we always want the best for our family. Sometimes all we can do is just love, pray, and be a shining star. I will be praying for you and your family.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

