The Peace of God

You know sometimes I find that life is really crazy.  I am not complaining, please don’t get me wrong, but maybe you can relate.  Life is full of so many different responsibilities that at times can be a little overwelming.  Once we hit our teenage years we are hit with a list of responsibilites and that list only seems to grow as we get older.  Maybe you are like me and on some days life just seems a little overwelming or difficult or hard or tiring.  Just maybe.

Philippians 4:6-7 says, “Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.  And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”

Maybe you are like me and you read the end of that verse that says the peace of God will guard our hearts and our minds, and this peace is so amazing it surpasses our own understanding.  That sounds like a good deal to me, so how can I get this peace of God.

Here is the deal, if each day instead of being anxious and concerned about the things in life, I talk to God about my life and ask him for help, I can get this peace.  Well there is a little more then that I also have to talk to God and ask him for help with a thankful attitude.  No matter how bad things are there is always something to be thankful for and when I approach life that way it helps protect me from my tendency to to be anxious and negative.  To approach life in a thankful way alone will change the way we look at life. 

Here is how the whole idea works, if God really is God and I believe he is God and I trust that he is God and believe him when he says he loves me and will provide for me. Then I talk to him about my life and all the things going on in my life and stop worrying and fretting over things and trust him to take care of me.  So really peace is all about trust.  If I trust that God is good and that he always has my best interests at heart then I can relieve myself of so much anxiety, stress, and anguish.  The truth is that life is hard, tiring, frustrating, annoying, and overwelming to EVERYONE at least sometimes.  That is just life, but we can make it so much easier on ourselves by not letting it effect our attitude and by trusting God enough to be vulnerable and ask him for help.

My son Dylan is now 20 months old and he is just a cute little stud.  We have so much of life to walk through with him, and hopefully he will learn early on in life that if he ever needs help with anything, no matter what it is, that I will always do whatever I can to help him, whatever is in his best interest even if it is different then what he thinks.  All he has to do is come and ask and his daddy can help him through so much of the difficultys and frustrations of life.  Now of course I will do everything that I can even when he doesn’t ask but when he asks it means so much more.  It means that he is admitting he needs my help, it means he is admitting he doesn’t know how to do it on his own, it is admitting that he knows I love him and I have his best interests in mind, and it means he is willing to take my help and not rebel from it.  All of the same things apply with God when we turn to him with all of the situations life throws our way, talk to him about it and ask him for help.  Maybe today God is just waiting for us to ask, and maybe God will treat us the way I will treat Dylan.  Maybe it might be worth it to try and see what happens.  Just maybe.  

  1. Anonymous
    June 15, 2006 at 1:17 pm

    I am reminded of when Susie Alan talked about not having a victim mentality. No one ever said life would be easy, and the truth is, if we only trust God when things are easy, then are we really trusting God? As God is looking down on me, I want Him to be pleased with how I handle stressful situations. I want to be proud when the storm is over and I am looking back.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

