Oh the Freedom

You know one of the biggest complaints I have gotten about God and church over the years are all the rules associated with being a Christian and going to church.  Many times it seems like we are always told, do not do this and do not do that.  However, Colossians 2:11-23 shows us that the reality of being a follower of Jesus is freedom of choice.  The passage shows us that we are actually free from the requirements, from the do not do this and do not do that.  Did you know that?  This passage helps show us that the whole idea of being a better Christian if you do this and do that is simply not true. 

Here is the thing, you either are or your are not a Christian.  You have either committed your life to Jesus and believe he is God or you don't.  So if you are a chrisitian then you are free from the obligation of trying to be a good christian, or better person.  You now have the freedom to do what you want to do because as the passage says Jesus already forgave all of your trespasses (wrongs).  Now that you do not have to do what you are suppose to do or not suppose to do; What will you do?  This is were it gets interesting, since I cannot become more of a christian like how I can gain more wealth.  I have the freedom to do, not what I have to do, but what I want to do.  What do you want to do now that you have the freedom to do what you want?

Let us not live our lives my friends as people doing things we have to do, but may our beliefs and convictions be evident in the way that we live.  My friends I believe that Jesus is God, that he lived a life in which he did no wrong, that he died on a cross, rose back to life, and then ascended into heaven like the bible says.  I also believe like the bible says, that since I believe that and have committed my life to him I have been forgiven of all my wrongs and I am now a follower of Jesus.  Now if that is all true, and I have the freedom to do what I want to do.  What will I do?  Well I will try to show Jesus that I love him by doing what he says.  Not because I have to, but because I want to.  Because that is the least I can do.  What will you do, now that you can do what you want to do?

  1. ISABEL
    June 21, 2006 at 4:52 am

    WOW,,, THATS ALL I CAN SAY RIGHT NOW. WAY TO GO FOR MAKING ME THINK MORE YOU KNOW? THIS REALLY MAKES ONE THINK HOW THEY WILL ACT THE NEXT DAY EITHER WITH WHAT THEY SAY, OR WITH THAT THEY DO. THANKS FOR THE THOUGHT,,, I THINK I REALLY NEEDED THAT SEEING WHAT I’M GOING THROUGH. THANKS! THAT WAS REALLY GOOD!

  2. June 21, 2006 at 5:26 pm

    Isn’t that the truth? How blessed we are to have a God who gives us freedom of choice?

    One of my choices is to better understand the Word of God so I might attempt to choose to do things that are pleasing to Him. Not because I think it will “earn” me anything. It’s already been given to me and paid for through Jesus.

    I choose, because I want to show God how much I love Him. It’s not easy to interperate his Word I must say. That’s where Bible Study comes in and discussion is always growth.

    Thanks Jason for your time to share…..:)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

