Confession

Today’s post will be very short and sweet.  1 John 1:9 “If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.”

This is a great verse that reminds us how important it is to be honest with God about our lives.  If we tell him about the mistakes we make God will forgive of our mistakes.  To admit to God our mistakes means so much.  I remember as a teenager especially, I would do stupid stuff all the time and of course my parents would catch me most of the time.  They would always ask me what I did even though they already knew.  It would make me for a minute think they didn’t know and I could lie my way out of my mistake, but it never seemed to work.  When I was a freshman in college I did what so many freshman do and I got into some credit card debt.  During the summer following my freshman year I remember sitting with my dad and crying because I didn’t know what to do.  At the time I thought he had no idea about my problem but he did, and since I came to him and admitted my mistake, he helped me out and took care of it for me.  However, it all was contingent on me recognizing my error, admitting it, and asking for help.  The same is so true with God, he desires to help, to forgive and purify, but instead we feel that we can trick God and carry around the guilt and shame of our mistakes (sins). 

Today will you give God those errors, those mistake, will you admit them to him?  When we do we admit to God that he is greater then us and we need his help he promises to purify us from all unrighteousness, or in layman’s terms, to wash away all of the dirt and filth in our lives so we do not have to carry it around.  Think about a time that you have gone a while without a shower or bath.  You know that gross feeling, you just feel disgusting.  When we refuse to admit to God our mistakes it is like our soul hasn’t taken a shower in a while.  Then when you are dirty and gross, you know how great it feels to take a shower and feel clean.  It makes you feel like a new person, you know what I mean.  That is a picture of some one who has admitted their mistakes to God and he purifies them of all unrighteousness.  You just feel the weight of the world, the grossness, and stink come off and you feel like a new man/woman.

Today we can feel that, today we can admit we make mistakes, and we need some help.  Please do not walk around with the guilt and shame weighing you down any longer.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

