Dads And Donuts

Dads thank you for being here this morning with your children and making the time to be here. I know we all love our children dearly and we at the same time are all very busy with many different responsibilities to uphold in many areas. My hope this morning is to simply give you a little encouragement from one dad of two preschool aged children to another. It speaks a lot to me and is a great encouragement to me that you were willing to take the time to be here today because the role of the father is so extremely important. I know it is hard sometimes and we all find ourselves on some days wishing we were doing a better job, but I wanted to encourage you to keep going.

Your role as a father in your family is an extremely unique one. In the bible in Ephesians 5:25 it tells us men to love our wives as Christ loves the church. Now I am not going to go into marriages this morning but there is something important for us to take with us men about being a father. That is God’s natural design for the family is that the husband would fill the role the children in demonstrating what God is like and that makes our roles as fathers so very important.

I grew up with an amazing step dad since I was two years old. He is an awesome man and has been an excellent father in many ways. For one he always treated me as his own son even though I was his stepson, and he was always there throughout the years. When I played sports he was there and most of the time coaching like many of you guys are or are getting ready to do. He was there to help as I was going through school when I had trouble with a subject. He was there when I performed in plays and things as an elementary age kid, and when I tried to learn to play the guitar as a young child he was there and encouraged me even though it must have been horrible for him to have to listen to. The awesome thing is he was not just there but he encouraged me to keep going, he pushed me to not give up and do my best, and he disciplined me when and was honest with me when I messed up.

I want to encourage and challenge each of you today to do the same. As Ephesians 6:4 says, “Fathers do not provoke your children to anger, but bring them up in the discipline and instruction of the Lord.” Why is this all so very important? What they see in you is what they will naturally transfer over about what God is like.

After I trusted in Jesus as my Lord and Savior as a middle schooler it was easy for me to see God as a God who loves me, who cares about me, who will be there for me, that will encourage me, and it was even easy for me to understand that at times God will discipline me because that was the example my father set up for me about God. Your children are watching you dads and what you show them will be what they believe about God and the most important thing they can ever do is trust in Jesus and understands what he is really like. You can help them in that by being a father that shows them what God is like.

If you would like more information about how to be that type of a man then come talk with me and I’ll get your contact information and we will continue learning about this together.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

